Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 02-26-2021, 09:10 AM   #1

SUN #12461
ChristineH is an unknown quantity at this point
Can I Caulk Roof?

Hi all,
Got my camper today! I know there is a leak somewhere in the back/roof area. I bought silicone caulk. Can I use that on the roof? And should I use it anywhere else? Its going to rain all weekend. If not, I have a tarp I can try to wrap on the back end. TIA! Obviously I'm a total newbie!

Old 02-26-2021, 09:51 AM   #2

SUN #597
henryj
Don't use silicone anywhere except maybe inside your house on countertops or bathtubs. Silicone is riding its reputation from 50 years ago when most other caulks were junk. Today, there are many far better high tech caulks to use anywhere rather than silicone.

If you have a newer RV with a rubber roof, it must be caulked with Dicor self levelling roof caulking; available on Amazon or an RV dealer.

I have no experience with older RVs and aluminum roofs, but many other members do and may post some better info. I think I would still use Dicor on a horizontal seam because it's very fluid and flows and spreads over seams unlike other caulk that lays down a bead. However, self levelling is no good on vertical surfaces as it just runs down. Dicor also makes a caulk for vertical seams so be sure to get the right one.

Henry

henryj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2021, 09:54 AM   #3

SUN #12461
Thank you so much for the information! It is a 2006 solaris. It has a rubber roof. So I won't have time to get any Dicor. I will tarp it for now, and then we will assess once we have several days without rain. I look forward to other comments as well.
Old 02-26-2021, 09:57 AM   #4

SUN #12461