Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Sunline Community
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 10:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
awellis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 627
SUN #987
awellis3
Quick question for my engineer buds

Using the proper adaptor, is there any danger/issues/concerns hooking a 30A plug to a 50A outlet?

Teach
__________________

__________________
http://thumb0.webshots.net/t/88/171/5/88/75/2165588750103096700MZYWsp_th.jpgWright Ellis and Penny Sedgley
'10 Tundra 4X4
SOB -'14 Rockwood 2604WS (Rocky)
"Life is a cruel teacher. She gives the test first; the lesson then follows."
awellis3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 10:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Poppy & Nana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 2,907
SUN #93
Poppy & Nana is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm not an engineer but I vote "no danger" if using the proper adapter!
__________________

__________________
Kathy & Leo SUN 093
Central Adirondacks of New York
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy Hauler
We loved our 2007 T-2499
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Super Crew Dually Diesel
Poppy & Nana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 01:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 73
SUN #766
phillong
With the proper adapter, there is no problem. The adapter drops the 4 wire 50 amp down to the 3 wire 30 amp and drops the connection down to one leg of the 50 amp.

Not exactly the technical jargon, but I am sure that is what happens.

Phil
__________________
phillong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 01:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jim44646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,008
SUN #4040
jim44646 is an unknown quantity at this point
I do it sometimes when there is allot of ware on campground 30 amp outlet. 50 amp outlets are used less
__________________
Jim and DW Darlene
2001 T-2553 Sunline Solaris
2006 GMC Sierra Duramax 2500HD 4X4
Firestone Transforce AT tires
Reese Dual Cam Sway Control
jim44646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 08:27 PM   #5
Moderator
 
EMD_Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,039
SUN #897
EMD_Driver is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to EMD_Driver Send a message via Yahoo to EMD_Driver
When using the proper adapter, the only difference is that your shore power wire is protected by a 50AMP circuit breaker and not a 30AMP one. Your coach is still protected by it's own 30AMP circuit breaker. We have camped at several 30AMP only CGs and have seen several of those adapters in use. At one time I even had a custom adapter, so I could choose which leg I used off the 50AMP outlet. Some CGs have all the 30AMP users on one of the legs that the 50AMP users are on. One leg of the 50AMP could be at ~100v and the other at 120v. I was able to use the leg with better voltage.
__________________
Gary
SunlineClub Custom Google Search

2007 Peterson Excel Limited 30RKE
2014 Ford F350XLT SRW Crew Cab, Long bed 6.7PSD

EMD_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dtstanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 448
SUN #4364
dtstanton is an unknown quantity at this point
No problem.
__________________
Dale (and Shelley)

TT: 1988 Sunline T-1350
TV: 2003 GMC Yukon SLT 5.3L
dtstanton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 06:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,993
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
It is highly doubtful that there would be a problem but many campers had no main breaker and it could be possible to exceed the rated load of the 30 amp cord you would have to try hard but possible. Any thing to do with electrical power is "what if'ed" to death and the code book thinks of things that could happen that are very obscure but possible. The 50 amp CG outlet is really two 50 amp 120 volt circuits 180* out of phase campers only use 120 volt circuits so the big stuff has two 120 volt supplies feeding the camper that is why it has 4 pins iinstead of 3 two 120 volt pins one ground and one neutral.
__________________
mainah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:01 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
awellis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 627
SUN #987
awellis3
Thanks all! I have the adaptor in my gear locker ready to go.

Teach
__________________

__________________
http://thumb0.webshots.net/t/88/171/5/88/75/2165588750103096700MZYWsp_th.jpgWright Ellis and Penny Sedgley
'10 Tundra 4X4
SOB -'14 Rockwood 2604WS (Rocky)
"Life is a cruel teacher. She gives the test first; the lesson then follows."
awellis3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The engineer's smore wagonman76 Recipes 4 01-10-2012 11:44 AM
Quick Question regarding Shower Caulking OhhWell Repairs and Maintenance 3 06-28-2011 06:54 PM
Quick question re: sunny taillights quaddriver Repairs and Maintenance 2 10-05-2010 11:36 AM
Quick cool AC conversion ??? Sunline1 Modifications 2 06-01-2010 03:12 PM
A quick hello and thank you slogan Introduce Yourself 10 01-21-2010 07:11 AM


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sunline RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 PM.


×