Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Sunline Community
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 03-26-2013, 01:42 PM   #1

SUN #64
MACK C-85 is an unknown quantity at this point
Forgive the Rant, Heed the Warning

The Rant:

What is it about tire guys and their impact wrenches?!?!?

I had a flat on the RAM 2500 this morning. Great way to start the day, I know, but I dragged out the jack, tire iron, and spare a got to work. Or so I thought, I'm not a Mechanical Engineer, but I've changed enough tires to know that a guy my size (and I'm a big boy!!!) standing full weight on a 14" long tire iron should create enough torque to break loose a properly torqued lug nut. Nope, couldn't get seven of the eight loose. With the assistance of AAA's 3' long breaker bar and my lug wrench we were able to change the tire without wringing off any of the studs. I'll take small miracles, since I was watching my 5/8" inch bar stock lug wrench flexing before the lug nuts moved!!!

The Warning:

While we were in a safe place, on the quiet street in front of my house. I would not have wanted to be fighting this with my butt hanging out on the Interstate!! So, whenever you have any work done requiring the tires to be removed and reinstalled make sure they don't over-torque the lug nuts!! There is no way that it should require a 4' long wrench and a couple of hundred pound guy to break them loose!!! These lugs were definitely over-torqued.

Mack

2004 Dodge Ram 2500 Club Cab 4x4 CTD
2007 Sunline Solaris T-276-SR: Misty Blue/Cherry
2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Reg Cab 4x4 OFF-ROAD
MACK C-85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 05:58 PM   #2
Jay

SUN #4376
Jay is an unknown quantity at this point
Forgive the Rant, Heed the Warning