Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Travel Forums > Directions & Routes
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 12-13-2010, 05:10 PM   #1

SUN #1458
matti is an unknown quantity at this point
Free overnight places to stop on Highway 13 in VA

Planning on a 3 week stay on the barrier islands in NC & would like to know if there are any places like Walmart,Home Depot on Rt 13 near the Chesapeake Bay Bridge in case I want to stop overnight

HD Tow Package\Integrated Brake Ctrl
3.73 LS Rear
matti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 06:43 AM   #2

SUN #987
awellis3
Best I can do

Hey, Matt, I live in Richmond, Va. not too many Virginians or Tarheels on this forum. I'm new to the world of TTs and have limited experience with what you are asking, but I will share what I do know.

Coming down the Eastern Shore on 13 will dump you out in Norfolk (as you undoubtedly know) into urban sprawl that rivals most anything you've experienced up North. Norfolk-Portsmouth-Va. Beach-Chesapeake is all one big city nowadays. My experience is that urban stores aren't as open to travellers overnighting as are their more rural stores.

WalMart
Walmart.com - Store Finder Results

Home Depot
Store Finder

I would make a few phone calls to some likely stores on your route to confirm if they do allow overnighting. I'll be surprised if they do.

IMHO, your best bet is to get through this area before you have to stop, or stop in Northampton Cty., Va., on the bridge's northern end. I taught school in that county and it is still rural farm country. You'd have better luck finding a business along 13 who'd let you overnight. There is a WalMart in Onley, Va. That's in Accomack Cty., close to the Md. state line.

I hope someone with more knowledge of the area hops on board.

Good luck,
Teach