Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Introduce Yourself
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 06-23-2018, 04:32 PM   #1

SUN #10636
holmzie is an unknown quantity at this point
There's another fine mess I've gotten myself into...

You're all gonna think I'm strange, the devil or just a kook. Yep. Bound to be blacklisted. The most shunned member in a Sunline users forum may be one who has found a trailer to put a 70' tower upon. Yah, I'm a Ham Radio operator.

So, Hi folks, Im holmzie. I came across a scrapped 1990 Sunline Star Ray T170. I'm getting it for free. It has been sitting for 20 years. off the tires, and has been attacked by carpenter ants. So I thought I would investigate for information and I found this form, full of thoughtful individuals.

In a nutshell, I like the trailer, and have no idea what damage is under the skin, but I'm not looking for a living space on wheels, (but Hmmm...) The plan is to remove everything and slide or winch the tower onto the frame, and get them both to my property. Then I will build a trailer-tower, fairly common these days.

I of course am tempted to use some of the panels, door and windows to re-build an enclosed communications platform forward of the rear axle. I just cant say without seeing more of the frame. Alas, If I can't afford the extra weight, I may sell or dispose of that stuff. Darn.

The tower stows horizontally, around the 9' level, hinged just behind the rear axle. The rear of the trailer will be modified with a large 2' slot in the center of the rear bumper and frame to allow the tower to tilt up and lock in the vertical position. There will be outriggers to allow this operation, and guy wires to support the fully extend tower.