Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 08-21-2007, 07:00 PM   #1

SUN #385
Hematite
T 2499 tongue weight and hitch strength

Hi, I'm new to the world of trailering and have been studying all I can find to tow safely. My question is: with the very heavy tongue weight of the T 2499 do I need a heavier receiver? The receiver on the truck now (2007 Ford F150) says that the maximum weight on the receiver is 990 lbs with WD. I've read here that the tongue weight on the T 2499 can go as high as 1400 lbs. This says to me that the factory receiver is not safe with this particular trailer, when loaded. Is that correct?

The aftermarket receivers rated high enough say that they're not for trucks equiped with factory tow packages. Huh??? I can't take the factory receiver off and put a heavier model on??? Ok, now I'm really confused! Some good advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Rick

Old 08-21-2007, 07:12 PM   #2

SUN #256
Bobo
Rick,

Part of the WD hitch is the weight rating of the bars. Basically the heavier the rating, the less weight on the hitch. I pull a 2499 with 1,000 # rated bars. Five links on the chain(four hanging). My 1/2 ton Chevy still has a squat to it. I've read here in the forum that some are using 1,2000# bars.

As for the TV hitch platform, talk to your RV dealer or someone who professionaly installs hitches. If you need a heavier platform, I,m sure there is someone out there that can recommend an upgrade. Your guaranteed that someone else smarter than me will be putting their two cents in on this post.

Bobo

2001 Coleman Utah
2006 Sunline T-2499
Bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 08:03 PM   #3

SUN #287
nickster60