Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 10-14-2009, 07:34 PM   #1

SUN #932
ast21td
water heater switch

I just bought a 1991 sunline with a hotwater switch how does this work because I turn it on and the light goes on but nothing happens how do I check to see if it works right I am new to trailer and learning

Old 10-14-2009, 07:47 PM   #2

SUN #93
Poppy & Nana is an unknown quantity at this point
Hopefully you have water in the heater....not sure to tell you how it works, I'm sure someone with be chiming in sooner or later with an explanation.

We have the electric/propane model - I don't think you have that....you may have to light a pilot out on the heater.

We loved our 2007 T-2499
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Super Crew Dually Diesel
Poppy & Nana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 10:05 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

SUN #897
EMD_Driver is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to EMD_Driver Send a message via Yahoo to EMD_Driver
Our 2003 T-320SR had a switch put in by the previous owner. In a nutshell, the switch turns on the electric WH element. When it's on, you should not hear anything. You should get hot water after a while. What ever you do... MAKE SURE THERE IS WATER IN THE WH any time you have the switch on. If not, you will burn out the heating element.

If you do have water in the WH and turn the switch on, you should get hot water in around 15 minutes. If you do not get hot water, it is likely that the element is already burned out.

These WH are designed for either LPG or electric use. You shouldn't use both at the same time.