Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 02-12-2020, 07:57 AM   #1

SUN #11734
LeAnn is an unknown quantity at this point
Repairing wood damage

Hey guys just have a quick question. Im replacing support boards on the floor and on the back wall that have rotted out due to water damage. My question is, im new to all this and am having issues connecting my new wood to parts of the supports that are still okay. Im using metal connector brackets to make sure they are good and in there. Is this going to effect how my panels sit? Should i take all the brackets off and go another route?? Thank you in advance!

Old 02-12-2020, 06:39 PM   #2

SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
Hi LeAnn,

Is there a way you can post a few pics so we can see what you are up against? And better tell you some methods on how to fix?

As a big picture general statement, when I cut bad wood out and want to replace the bad with new, the ideal is to replace the entire board if is a lot of rot. But there are times that is not practical or the rot is short. In these cases we do what we call "sister" a new board next to the joint of new and old. This creates rigidity across the joint to give the floor joists structural load carrying ability similar to what it had originally.

For example. A floor joist that is 8 feet long, the full width of the camper has 3 feet of rot on one end. In this case, due to what else is affected, it is complex to replace the entire board. I would add the 3 new feet butted up tight to replace the old, and use a splice board about 1 ft to 1 1/2' ft long on each side of the joint (2 to 3ft long) and glue and screw the splice board on across the joint.