Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 01-14-2009, 05:30 PM   #1

SUN #774
al_in_cedar
is it the Thermostat? 1985 T-1350

okay, i searched the forums and didn't find an answer to this question...

FIRST: Im a newbie.. let me get that out of the way... I just picked up a real nice 1985 Sunline T-1350. It's exactly what I've been looking for and in very good shape. ($900)

Here is the problem.. I KNOW the furnace works(ed). I can light the pilot light and have actually had it fired up and had it heating. However... I kind of tapped on the thermostat a couple of times and the heater stopped heating.

Here is what I can tell you:
1. the pilot light is lit and is very easy to light and STAYS lit.
2. the stove works fine.
3. the fan kicks on when I want it too and turns off as it should.

the only thing missing is the FLAME part which provides the HEAT part.

I am thinking that the thermostat stopped working when I 'tapped' on it. Although there isn't much to it, I dont know anything about it...

Anyone out there that can throw this newbie a bone and tell me what to try? If it's just the thermostat, i'll run out to the thermostat store tomorrow, but I need some input from the pro's...

All in all, I'm real happy with my purchase and I think I have a real nice box..

THANKS IN ADVANCE

Old 01-14-2009, 10:29 PM   #2

SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
H'mm a 1985 unit. Do you have a model/make number of the furnace? I can attempt to look it up.

And any pics of the unit where the gas valve/pilot light is?

This much it "sounds" like. Tell me where I go wrong.

The pilot lights and stays lite? This older one you have to actually lite the pilot. This means the thermocouple is OK.