Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 06-16-2010, 12:16 PM   #1

SUN #1137
RUSKEY is an unknown quantity at this point
How to turn off converter charger

I have a que with a wf-8955an w/plastic converter and have added a prowatt sw 2000 inverter when i plug in the shore power cord i need to be able to turn off charger in converter any one know how?

Old 06-16-2010, 06:51 PM   #2

SUN #597
henryj
I'm not an electrician, but since no one else has responded yet, will take a stab at it.

According to the Que brochure--download it from the files tab at the top of this page--your trailer has an "interior battery cut-off switch". I have no idea where it is--perhaps a Que owner will add to this thread--or, just trace the battery cable until you find a rotary type on/off switch. It could also be a simple knife switch, but I doubt Sunline would have used that as the bigger trailers have a high end Blue Sea marine type switch mounted externally on the header.

To specifically answer your question: I don't believe it is possible to turn off the charger function at the converter. Isolating the battery with a cut-off switch accomplishes the same thing.

Also, I don't understand what the addition of the inverter has to do with isolating the battery under shore power?? Your charger/converter will go into a float mode after 48 hr. of shore power. As long as you monitor the water level, a battery should not be hurt by this long term float although there are better ways of storing a battery with chargers that also desulfate than just using a float.

Henry

henryj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 07:16 PM   #3

SUN #123
Sunline Fan is an unknown quantity at this point