Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 11-28-2017, 07:21 AM   #1

SUN #9658
Jtrobbins13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hot Water Heater TP valve

So like I mentioned in my modification thread, our last camping trip we had a slight issue with the temperature/pressure relief valve popping on our camper's hot water heater... Now as a former plumber I am very familiar with HW heaters and TP valves, however as a newbie to campers I'm not 100% sure how everything works... Are the TP valves in the camper the same as the ones in your house? Can I just go to a local hardware store and buy a new one? Or are they specifically set for campers which means I have to go to an RV dealer and buy one... Honestly I am also toying with the idea of just getting rid of the one we have and replacing it with an electric tankless hot water heater... The couple of times we have taken our Sunny out since we bought it in August I have never trusted nor felt comfortable with that thing, something about a small 28 year old jet engine going off directly under my bed doesn't sit well with me... I only ever light it just before the wife is getting ready to do dishes or take a shower, and even then I stand outside right next to it and shut it off once she is done... It is strictly propane, I guess the dual source heaters didn't come until after 1989, lol... I know that if I go with a strictly electric heater that would present a problem if I ever go "dry camping", but honestly I have no intention of ever do that, lol... Just wanted to ask quick about the TP valve though incase I just want to replace that for now before I start the project of replacing the whole thing... Thanks

Old 11-28-2017, 08:13 AM   #2

SUN #2097