Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 04-19-2011, 06:47 AM   #1

SUN #2026
ronandsue is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Charging Battery while Towing

I am new to rving and have a problem with my battery. When i plug my rv into my tow vehicle i have not electrical in the rv. The battery is new and i towed it several miles and still no charge in the battery. I pluged the rv into 110 and i have electric through out the rv. It charged the battery that i had lights after disconnection from 110. The next day no power in battery.....

Is there something i can check to determine why i have no electric when connected to towing vehicle.

Since it is a new battery how long does it take to fully charge it.

Thanks for any Help

Ron

Old 04-19-2011, 08:24 AM   #2

SUN #264
Steve Collins is an unknown quantity at this point
In your 7 pin RV connector, pin #4 should be +12 vdc to the trailer. On some tow vehicles it is direct to the battery and always hot. On others, it may only be hot when the vehicle is running.

First, check to see if you have voltage at the connector. (Use a test light or multimeter.) If you don't you'll have to trace the wiring from the battery to the connector and see if it is connected, and if so, if there is a fuse in the line. Check to make sure the fuse is not blown. You may have a manual reset circuit breaker somewhere in the TV instead of a fuse.