Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 06-28-2017, 07:35 PM   #1

SUN #9498
Draughty is an unknown quantity at this point
2001 Advancer 21A Floor Framing question..

I am working on a new to us Advancer that has some serious damage from water infiltration on the door side front corner. Both front corners are suspect but the door side it was pouring in and absolutely soaked.
We have pulled out all the vinyl flooring except under the bed and that is going out as soon as I can get to it. The bed is loaded chair and jackknife couch etc..
My main question is if anyone has any pictures or Sunline promo materials or drawings of the floor framing?
I am a mechanical designer by trade so I make drawings every day but RV construction is a whole different animal!
Just inside the door there seems to be very little in the way of frame and it currently appears that the only structure is the thin lauan plywood on top of the metal frame. Just not certain if wood framing has given way or if the plywood was meant to spank the gaps?
Thanks in advance I have already learned a lot just reading about other people's experience.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Old 06-29-2017, 08:02 AM   #2

SUN #9498
This isn't a Sunline I don't believe but would anyone have similar or pictures of a typical frame?https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com...op-campers.jpg

Old 06-29-2017, 07:14 PM   #3

SUN #8237
johnnybgood is an unknown quantity at this point
Isn't the Advancer the one made with aluminum? Not sure if the floor joists are aluminum or not.

Either way the floor wouldn't be luan.
Old 06-29-2017, 07:17 PM   #4

SUN #9498