Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Model Specific Forums > Sunline Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 02-11-2013, 09:10 PM   #1

SUN #4815
maria0425 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile OK to Buy Sunline TT (Permanent Spot) Since Sunline Closed?

Hi All.

I am a newbie and have found this site super informative.

I am thinking of buying a 1998 Sunline travel trailer, parked in a permanent lake front site in a campground on Lake Erie in Westfield near Chautauqua, NY. (I live in the Buffalo area.) It also has a 12 X 24 add a room attached for extra space.

My question is buying a Sunline since I read that the company closed in 2006. Will that make it hard to get parts should I need replacements of anything? Are parts still available even though the company went out of business?

I am also interested in hearing from others with a permanent location and use their travel trailers for a weekend getaway near home, always in the same location.

Thanks. I appreciate any and all feedback.

Old 02-11-2013, 09:57 PM   #2

SUN #123
Sunline Fan is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi Maria,

Well, we've survived just over six years without them...

Seriously, there aren't many Sunline specific parts on these things. The biggies are exterior decals, fender skirts, cabinets, and fabric items like cushions/curtains:

- Decals, well you can live without them, but decal shops can reproduce these for a cost.
- Fender skirts, companies do recreate these and you can find similar ones too. '98 skirts are very simple and a common design, so it could be easy to replace. But if you aren't towing it and they're good now, it shouldn't be a problem.