Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Modifications
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 07-13-2017, 12:09 PM   #1

SUN #9498
Draughty is an unknown quantity at this point
CPAP battery drain...

I am new to owning an RV that has a battery and electrical system.
I also need and use a CPAP machine at night which is a good reason for me to have a self contained electrical system.
My question is if anyone has any experience with the amount of drain my CPAP may use in a night and if one or two batteries are best.
Also does the battery recharge from the tow vehicle?
With literally hundreds of thousands of acres of crown (public) land surrounding my home town we are highly likely to drag this into the bush for a few days at a time.
time. Our only restriction is to move a hundred meters or so every 10 days.. gotta love Northern Ontario!
Thanks in advance for any and all information!!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Old 07-14-2017, 04:10 PM   #2

SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
There should be a statement on the device as to watts or amps some (maybe all I don't know) have heaters that would be the greatest power draw. So a rough ideal is multiply the figures by 10 that would give you an ideal of how much power it would draw from 12 volt source. Your TV should recharge your batteries with caveats not all TV are wired for charging or if your camper plug is anything less than 7 pin.

Old 07-14-2017, 07:35 PM   #3

SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
We have had other members boondock and run a CPAP machine too. I have not, but we do boondock off the grid. It is doable but you are going to have to become a power miser. Change out the standard light bulbs to LED as a start.