Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Sunline Community
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 07-15-2008, 06:40 AM   #1

SUN #501
grannytosix
Roof questions

Hi, I have a solaris 1995 and it is my first year camping in it. So far with all the help from this group my experience is working out great. Now it is time to check the top of the trailer to see if there are any potential problems lurking up there. I have not had any leaks so far but last weekend I noticed that at the back near the bathroom vent the roof seems to be raised in a hump...water problems???
Can I crawl across the roof without falling through? What should I be looking for? Suggestions for repairs??? Better left for an expert than a grandma???
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Sharon

Old 07-16-2008, 06:11 AM   #2

SUN #258
pwb01 is an unknown quantity at this point
Somewhere I read (it may have been here) that it is advised to lay down a piece of plywood that spans a couple of roof joists and sit on it and not directly on the rubber roof. I've used this method myself. 36" square would be more than adequate.

2013 Rockwood 8280WS 5th wheel
2006 Sunline Solaris T-1950
pwb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 06:55 AM   #3

SUN #520
kathyh
We recommend putting a drop cloth or old blanket between the plywood and rubber roof.

KathyH

2007 Sunline T2499 4" lift w/03
2011 Chevy Avalanche
1988 Sunline 1850 Satellite
Rob and Kathy H
kathyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 07:31 AM   #4

SUN #128
Tweety
Sharon, You say the probable leak is by the roof vent in your bathroom. While you're up on the roof check the sealer around the roof vent. If it hasn't been kept up with it can crack and let rain water in.