Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Model Specific Forums > Sunline Sunspot Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 08-08-2010, 01:30 PM   #1

SUN #1230
dotthespot is an unknown quantity at this point
Repairing leaks and water damage- Sunspot!

Hi all. Not only am I new to my Sunspot, I am also new to the joys of finding leaks and water damage.

My '82 Sunspot had some old water damage but I was led to believe that the source of the leak had been dealt with. Up until these last few days, I was inclined to believe that (we'd had a bit of rain but the insides stayed dry, but a severe storm has dashed those hopes ).

I have water coming in from the left front corner (or at least that's where the damage is), and the left side window. The front panel is definitely going to have to be gutted and probably the left side panel as well. I will have somebody coming to look at it this week.

I had planned to seal everything with Eternabond tape regardless, but I'm wondering if I need to wait until the internal repairs are done first (will the skin have to be removed from the outside in order to do the repairs? or will it need to be done from the inside?). I don't want to spend a fortune on Eternabond that will be ripped out anyway.

It is tarped now; should I just forget about sealing until I can get an opinion?

What is the best way to deal with window leaks?

Anything else I should know or consider?

Any help is much appreciated!

Pam.

Old 08-08-2010, 05:04 PM   #2

SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
Hi Pam

Sorry to hear about your water issues. I went thru some of these myself this spring on my slide. All can be corrected though.