Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Introduce Yourself
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 07-10-2010, 02:06 PM   #1

SUN #1220
guss is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile rookie says hi

This is a fantastic forum for someone like me who ownes a Sunline trailer. My wife and I bought a new Sunline Solaris T2499 travel trailer in 2005. We put it on a lot at a trailer park right away so we have never taken it on the road touring.
This is our last year at the park so we plan to finally hit the road but first we have to buy a truck that will tow this heavy trailer. I have no experience at towing so I hope to get a lot of advice that will help me along the way.

Best Regards,
Guss & Glenda

Old 07-10-2010, 02:18 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

SUN #897
EMD_Driver is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to EMD_Driver Send a message via Yahoo to EMD_Driver
Welcome to SOC guss!

Kanyonkitty and JohnB have both had T-2499's and will probably be about the best ones to help! They should be along shortly...

2007 Peterson Excel Limited 30RKE
2014 Ford F350XLT SRW Crew Cab, Long bed 6.7PSD

EMD_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 05:46 AM   #3

SUN #680
dkasten39828 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hey Guss & Glenda! Nice to see another happy 2499 owner online.

We've owned a 2004 model T2499 for about 2 years now. It's a great floorplan for 2 people.

We pull ours with a 3/4-ton pickup. Ours is not an HD model, nor does it have a diesel engine. Our LD (light duty) 2500 Chevy has the 5.3 liter gas engine and a 3.73 limited slip rear axle ratio.

You can tow the 2499 with a properly equipped 1/2-ton truck.
There may be SUV's out there that are rated to pull it as well.