Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Introduce Yourself
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 06-20-2017, 07:48 PM   #1

SUN #9495
Islanders is an unknown quantity at this point
Hello to All from the Gulf Coast!!

Howdy Everyone!

We've just bought our first RV ever, and went with a 1979 Datsun Sunline! The RV has only 37K miles and appears to be in decent shape for a vehicle almost 40yrs old.

We've got a few things to do to it to make it ready for trips, and I'm anxious to peruse the site here and glean some important information. While I'm a decent mechanic and do most of my own repairs, this is my first RV so I'm sure to run into a few things I don't have experience with.

For starters, I'd like to have the VIN decoded so I have some idea of the actual vehicle we have here (since I didn't get an owners manual). I do have the Datsun VIN, but I'm sure I need to post the Sunline VIN.
Can someone tell me where I can find that, maybe in one of the side compartments?

Currently, us and the Datsun reside on Galveston Island, near Texas. If you're in the area feel free to reach out to me here and we'll try to get together for some fun on the beach. I'm a dedicated motorcyclist, and ride everyday into Houston for work (60+mi each way). My GF is a nurse and works here on the Island.

I'm also into AMC cars, and currently have an '83 AMC Spirit GT that I take out for cruise nights and shows in the area. That's been a real project, and primed me well for the RV (I Hope).

I'm typically pretty active on any boards where I'm a member, so you'll be seeing posts from me fairly regularly.

We've already started cleaning it out and getting it ready for some quick repairs, I'll post pics of the inside shortly.

Old 06-21-2017, 07:01 AM   #2

SUN #9248