Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 03-31-2014, 07:56 AM   #1

SUN #6119
Gypsyjoey is an unknown quantity at this point
Sway Control help needed

Hey everyone. So I just had a quick question about sway control. I have a 1983 T-1550 and I am towing with a honda ridgeline. I only had it out driving once but I noticed quite a bit of swaying if I went over 80kms/hr. Do you think this sway control kit posted below would do the trick to stop some of the swaying?

Husky Adjustable Sway Control Kit

Old 03-31-2014, 08:22 AM   #2

SUN #987
awellis3
I have no experience with sway controls since I never needed one towing a Sunline.
When you say "sway" are you referring to the trailer swerving side to side while the truck is going straight and you are alone on the road? Or is the sway you are writing about ocurring in, say, windy conditions or being passed by tractor-trailers?
If it is the first situation, I'd be sure my tongue weight was correct before I spent any money. Sunlines sit close to the ground and are not prone to sway if properly set up and loaded.
Make sure your hitch height and trailer level are correct, too. Ensure that your WD hitch is set up properly. IIRC, 80kms/hr is about 50mph, so speed should not be a factor, all other things being in proper adjustment.

Teach

"Life is a cruel teacher. She gives the test first; the lesson then follows."
awellis3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:25 AM   #3

SUN #1694
GWildey is an unknown quantity at this point
I have a 1990 T-1550 and installed a similar sway control made by Reese. I feel more comfortable towing my trailer with it, it make a big difference. Just remember to remove it when backing up.

'83 T1550
'90 T1550
'06 Volvo XC90 V8