Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Towing and Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 03-27-2019, 09:05 AM   #1

SUN #11156
AprilL is an unknown quantity at this point
Advice on Buying a Tow Vehicle

I'm new at this. I think I have an 86 Satellite T1850, 18'. The only info is on a half worn sticker on the outside of the trailer. I don't have a manual so I've been learning about it online. I pretty sure this weighs in at 2700lbs. unloaded. My son and I will be living in this for a year. We will be traveling all over the country and boondocking most of the time. I have one full picture on my profile and others of the roof. I'll get more on soon. First things first. I need to buy a toad. I'm hoping a 6cyl will tow this as I'm trying to save money on fuel. But if I have to get an 8cyl I will. So does anyone have any advice on what I should be looking for? Oh, I'm looking at older pre 2000's models. I will have it once'd over by a mechanic to make sure all the brake lines etc are good to go. I've been looking at Jeep Cherokees, Chevy Silverados, F150's, Land Rovers, preferrably 4x4s, something that will seat 3 people just in case we have an extra person. I hope this wasn't too much info but also enough. I really need the help! Thanks so much for any and all advice!

Old 03-27-2019, 12:17 PM   #2

SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point