Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 12-04-2017, 05:07 PM   #1

SUN #9897
Withasmile is an unknown quantity at this point
Sunline Saturn Water Damage repair

It was suggested to start a thread here to provide future reference for others. Let me start by saying we have absolutely no experience in repairing a travel trailer. I'm an obsessive researcher and I convinced my sweet husband that we are up for the challenge. Here's a look at where we've made it to. We hit our first major roadblock when I dropped a full sheet of plywood on my big toe. I'm out of commission for a while, but Kevin (that's my guy) forged ahead today.

Questions...should the corner joists just connect to the 2x3 running along the bottom sill or should there be a bracket of some kind?

Also, how much would it involve to jack the rear up to replace both rear joists completely? All carriage bolts involved are holding nothing. Both rear corners are completely gone as well.

The aluminum joint near the rear top clearance lights...what exactly is holding it on to the frame besides the screws under the trim on each side? We need to remove it also to get to the top corner.

We learned today that someone else has definitely been working on the under shower area. They replaced the missing joists area with a piece of plywood. I suspect this corner has been gone a long time. The way it looks is almost how we found it, minus the 1" thick wood scrap. The carved out joist was us. That's it.

Thanks so much in advance for all the advice!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1181.jpg (119.6 KB, 96 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1184.jpg (85.2 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1187.jpg (80.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1182.jpg (101.4 KB, 16 views)