Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 08-08-2016, 05:15 AM   #1

SUN #8284
MandoLinda is an unknown quantity at this point
Replacing Roof Vent Cover

I just bought a 2003 Sunline Solaris. The roof vent cover (for the refrigerator, I presume) is cracked and needs to be replaced. My question is this: Is this a universal size? Any advice regarding removing the old vent or installing the new one? I need to purchase butyl tape, correct?

I am brand new to this. Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Vent Cover.jpg (60.1 KB, 11 views)

Old 08-08-2016, 10:26 AM   #2

SUN #1830
Jim-Bev-2363 is an unknown quantity at this point
If it were me I'd take the old cover off. Go to the RV store and buy another. Just tell them the brand and serial number of your fridge and show the cover. Do not mention Sunline. Good luck.

Jim-Bev-2363 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 11:40 AM   #3

SUN #264
Steve Collins is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by MandoLinda View Post
I just bought a 2003 Sunline Solaris. The roof vent cover (for the refrigerator, I presume) is cracked and needs to be replaced. My question is this: Is this a universal size? Any advice regarding removing the old vent or installing the new one? I need to purchase butyl tape, correct?

I am brand new to this. Thank you!
Jim's advice is spot on. All the RV manufacturers use one of the two or three standard roof vents available. Just take the broken one with you to the RV store and don't mention Sunline. I've expounded on that repeatedly in other posts.