Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2013, 07:13 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
SUN #4150
jbaker is an unknown quantity at this point
Refrigerator

Hi Everyone,

Quick refrigerator question.... our camper is approx. 10 years old, and is used relatively lightly during the summer months.

On the weekend, or fridge seemed to quit working on propane. However, on electricity, all seems to be fine. [There is lots of propane in the tanks.]

Someone told me to 'blow out the lines' in case of cobwebs, dirt, etc..... but I'm not exactly sure what that means!

Any help or advice on other items to check would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
jbaker
__________________

__________________
jbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:38 AM   #2
Member
 
underdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
SUN #4407
underdog is an unknown quantity at this point
What model is it? What is it doing when you try to light it? I know there is an orifice for the gas and the flue can get buildup of dirt and rust but I've never actually cleaned one. Mine had a bad ignitor and would only operate on electric.

Good news is it still works on electric. That means the cooling unit itself is OK. Other repair parts are relatively inexpensive.
__________________

__________________

Jim & Laurie
Pittsburgh Area
1990 StarRay T205
2005 Dodge Dakota V8 Tow pac.
1992 Gulfstream Ultra LE Mini 27'
underdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:25 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jim44646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,008
SUN #4040
jim44646 is an unknown quantity at this point
Don't stick anything in the orifice. I use canned air to blow out burner. If refrig. Has electric ignition you should hear a snapping noise when its trying to start. You may have to stand outside by vent to hear it.
Video kind of goofy but gives you idea.
__________________
Jim and DW Darlene
2001 T-2553 Sunline Solaris
2006 GMC Sierra Duramax 2500HD 4X4
Firestone Transforce AT tires
Reese Dual Cam Sway Control
jim44646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,515
SUN #768
Gene is an unknown quantity at this point
As underdog said, model will help.

Does the gas light but not cool the fridge or does the gas not light at all?
__________________

Gene & DW Ginny
2002 Sunline T-2363
2008 Toyota 4-runner 4wd 4.7L V-8
Reese Dual Cam straightline - P3 Brake controller
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:41 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
SUN #4150
jbaker is an unknown quantity at this point
thanks everyone,...... I will find out the model number and report back. The camper is at a relative's place right now, but I will be going there tomorrow.
__________________
jbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,992
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
I have a number of parts for a 2820 (they probably fit many others). I have a building in the woods at my place and was looking for a propane fridge and I brought one back from the dump. All the controls work gas valves controller etc. but alas it has a leaky cooling unit so if any one needs parts let me know.
__________________
mainah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 07:51 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
SUN #4150
jbaker is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi Everyone,
Finally getting back.... thanks again for replying to my 'cry for help'.
Good news and bad news....good news, I have the Model number - it is a Dometic RM 2652, if that helps.
Bad news is... now it has quit working on electricity also [before it was working on hydro, but not on gas].
__________________
jbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 12:26 AM   #8
Moderator
 
Sunline Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,994
SUN #123
Sunline Fan is an unknown quantity at this point
It's crazy how I'm starting to see the early '00's Dometics starting to fail at quite a high rate. I know starting and stopping it a lot doesn't help them, but they do seem to be failing a bit prematurely. It used to be they had to be 15-20 years old before one would fail, now it's 10.
__________________
2007 T-286SR Cherry/Granola, #6236, original owner, current mileage: 9467.8 (as of 5/26/19)
1997 T-2653 Blue Denim, #5471
1979 12 1/2' MC, Beige & Avocado, #4639
Past Sunlines: '97 T-2653 #5089, '94 T-2251, '86 T-1550, '94 T-2363, '98 T-270SR
Sunline Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:51 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 1
SUN #5521
suealton6 is an unknown quantity at this point
2001 solaris sunline tanks full of propane, new battery
do I need to have the battery hooked up to run refrigerator? even if gas open??
__________________
suealton6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,992
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbaker View Post
Hi Everyone,
Finally getting back.... thanks again for replying to my 'cry for help'.
Good news and bad news....good news, I have the Model number - it is a Dometic RM 2652, if that helps.
Bad news is... now it has quit working on electricity also [before it was working on hydro, but not on gas].
I think that model was part of a Dometic recall check their web site they kind of caught fire if so they will replace the cooling unit free of charge.
__________________
mainah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,992
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by suealton6 View Post
2001 solaris sunline tanks full of propane, new battery
do I need to have the battery hooked up to run refrigerator? even if gas open??
Probably if it has a control panel with lights.
__________________
mainah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,515
SUN #768
Gene is an unknown quantity at this point
I have a Dometic RM2652 and it does require 12 volts to run the control board that runs the fridge. Also need 12 volts to open the gas valve and for the gas igniter.
__________________

Gene & DW Ginny
2002 Sunline T-2363
2008 Toyota 4-runner 4wd 4.7L V-8
Reese Dual Cam straightline - P3 Brake controller
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
SUN #4150
jbaker is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi All,
I'm back again..... after blowing out the lines, similar to the above video,.... all seems to be working great on gas. However, it doesn't seem to be working properly on hydro. Fuses are okay,.... so too are the breakers,... seems be power getting to the fridge as the lights work, etc.
Any thoughts anyone?

Thanks again for all your help.... greatly appreciated!
jbaker
__________________
jbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:36 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Wannabes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 736
SUN #4050
Wannabes is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbaker View Post
Hi All,
I'm back again..... after blowing out the lines, similar to the above video,.... all seems to be working great on gas. However, it doesn't seem to be working properly on hydro.
Thanks again for all your help.... greatly appreciated!
jbaker
What do you mean when you say that the refrigerator is, "working on hydro"?? The absorption refrigeration process of these units does incorporate hydrogen gas. Do you perhaps want to say that your refrigerator works properly when utilizing 120VAC as its heating source?
__________________

Matthew and Lisa
TT: '02 T-2363;
TV: 2012 Ford F-150, 4x4/Off-road, 5.0L V8, "Big Gray"
Reese Straitline w/ dual cam
Wannabes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:23 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
jim44646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,008
SUN #4040
jim44646 is an unknown quantity at this point
The first thing I would check is the electric heating element to see if it has continuity also if there is corrosion where it connects to the main board. There is also a circuit board in the eyebrow that could be bad.
The heating element is in the flue pipe above where the the burner is.This is what the heating element looks like
yhst-17908773761865_2273_4859758.jpg
__________________
Jim and DW Darlene
2001 T-2553 Sunline Solaris
2006 GMC Sierra Duramax 2500HD 4X4
Firestone Transforce AT tires
Reese Dual Cam Sway Control
jim44646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:28 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
jim44646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,008
SUN #4040
jim44646 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabes View Post
What do you mean when you say that the refrigerator is, "working on hydro"?? The absorption refrigeration process of these units does incorporate hydrogen gas. Do you perhaps want to say that your refrigerator works properly when utilizing 120VAC as its heating source?
He's in Canada, hydro is electric.
Hydro is short for B.C. Hydro and that's the company that supplies your electricity. Power in BC is hydro-electric - that is, it comes from water generation.
__________________
Jim and DW Darlene
2001 T-2553 Sunline Solaris
2006 GMC Sierra Duramax 2500HD 4X4
Firestone Transforce AT tires
Reese Dual Cam Sway Control
jim44646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 10:12 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
SUN #4150
jbaker is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi,
By hydro,... I simply meant it does not work on electricity when plugged in.

Thanks,
jbaker
__________________
jbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 07:42 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,992
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Here is some thing you might check. There is a control board and it decides what it will use to make the fridge work either 120 volts (hydro) or gas. If there is no power then the gas will power the fridge using 12 volts and with power then the gas is shut off. There should be a black cover that is removable over the controller, in side there are two glass fuses a 3 amp and a 6 amp. be sure your 120 volt power is off before you remove the cover there are exposed energized parts inside (you can simply unplug the fridge at it's outlet) The 12 volt is not dangerous so you can leave that connected when you check the fuses.
__________________

__________________
mainah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
refrigerator rchancey Repairs and Maintenance 26 02-27-2013 10:41 AM
replace refrigerator thunderburd Sunline Community 18 02-03-2013 06:29 AM
Refrigerator Quit apackoftwo Repairs and Maintenance 2 07-11-2012 10:31 PM
Removing the refrigerator Drake Sunline Community 7 08-31-2010 11:16 AM
Refrigerator Anne and Jim Sunline Travel Trailers 5 08-30-2009 08:04 AM


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sunline RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


×