Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 01-19-2019, 09:07 AM   #1

SUN #11058
Keith is an unknown quantity at this point
Paint

Greetings:
I am now the proud owner of 1993 21' T2053. The floor seems solid, no evidence of leaks. I am taking it next week to a dealer to insure it stays leak free by removing the corner molding, retaping, and then replacing the molding. I am going to paint her. I've watched all kinds of videos from using spray paint in a can, to pros who can really handle a spray gun. I am not a pro and would prefer just to paint with a brush. I have painted parts of my house (vinyl siding) with a brush and it came out great. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Keith

Old 01-20-2019, 09:10 AM   #2

SUN #4799
Dano is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi Keith, I bought a 1984 T-1450 6 years ago that needed lots of repair and painting.
The hardest part was stripping off the old decal decorative stripes on all four sides.
Like you, I researched DIY ways to do it and decided to go with latex paint using an electric spray gun I bought at Lowe's for around $100. The most important thing is you have to put a good coat of primer on first. Also make sure to remove any silicone caulk or sealant from all areas to be painted as it won't stick.
So far the paint job still looks real good and I kept the left over paint for occasional touch up when needed..
Good luck, Dano
Dano

Old 01-20-2019, 11:05 AM   #3

SUN #123
Sunline Fan is an unknown quantity at this point
If you have high expectations, I think the brush paint is going to fall quite short of them. Unlike vinyl siding, this aluminum (and the paint on it) is very smooth, even with the Krystal Kote coating on it, so it'll show every brush stroke.