Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 08-20-2015, 09:28 AM   #1

SUN #6257
JerryJ is an unknown quantity at this point
one tire has feathering

We just got back from a trip and there were two longer trips prior to that. Going over a few things I felt both tires and one is severely feathered.

The outer side wheel weight is still in place and tire pressure has been maintained all summer. I'm wonder if there was an inside wheel weight that dislodged?
I'm not an expert on tires but know enough that we should be using proper trailer tires for trailers.

Do you guys think it might have been a thrown wheel weight? Or, something else? These tires are only about 2 years old and tons of tread. Problem is now, I might have to replace this tire (might), unless just for shorter trips I should be fine.

Just an after thought: I had the springs re-arched last year. Maybe the axle shifted and is out of alignment?

Jerry & Debbie
Ford Explorer 4.6 Triton V8, AWD, 4x4
1985 Sunline Saturn T-1350
Ham radio VE3JCJ, VHF, UHF and HF
JerryJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:32 PM   #2

SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Generally balance will cause cupping, balanced properly there are usually weights on both sides. Some tire balancing dependent on the wheel and tire may not require a weight on either the outside or the inside so to answer your question maybe. Of the hundreds of tires I have balanced some (maybe a hand full) required no weights. It is possible that the axle alignment is off you have a picture of the tire maybe?

Old 08-20-2015, 08:17 PM   #3

SUN #6633
Fletch77 is an unknown quantity at this point