Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 05-21-2011, 03:15 PM   #1

SUN #1627
Ford 4 Life is an unknown quantity at this point
Hot water heater

I am new to this whole camping thing. Not sure how to light the hot water heater. When I turn the dial to the pilot position and press the red button, I don't hear or smell any gas. Is this normal? Where do I light the pilot at?

Old 05-21-2011, 03:48 PM   #2

SUN #93
Poppy & Nana is an unknown quantity at this point
Ford 4 Life - you many want to give our guru's more info...ie what year is your Sunline, do you know the manufacturer of your HW heater is.

Have you checked to see that the propane is on? Did you bleed the lines - let the propane flow thru the lines to the HW heater?

Good luck!

We loved our 2007 T-2499
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Super Crew Dually Diesel
Poppy & Nana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 04:19 PM   #3

SUN #264
Steve Collins is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford 4 Life View Post
I am new to this whole camping thing. Not sure how to light the hot water heater. When I turn the dial to the pilot position and press the red button, I don't hear or smell any gas. Is this normal? Where do I light the pilot at?
Presuming that your trailer is an older one that does not have the auto-ignite water heater. I haven't used one of them in over 20 years, so I am a bit rusty on doing that, but the manuals for all the versions of the Atwood heaters is in the Files area. They may give you enough info to get the heater fired up.