Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Repairs and Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 11-24-2009, 12:43 PM   #1

SUN #806
kkeduda
Double check my winterizing procedure???

This is my first year winterizing a trailer. I've read many posts on this site and it seems like winterizing is some sort of religion. Everybody does it a little differently, and no two methods are exactly alike. Here is what I have gathered so far.

1. Drain fresh water tank, black and grey tanks, hot water heater.
2. Bypass the water heater.
3. Put some pink antifreeze in the fresh water tank. I don't think I have the bypass system.
4. Pump it through all the lines until a bit comes out.
5. Put some in the traps.
6. Remove battery, turn off propane, remove foods, open fridge, etc.

Does this sound about right?

I don't have an air compressor, or a blow out plug. I do have a shop vac, should I use that to blow some water out?

My local RV dealer said I didn't need to have antifreeze in the hot water heater, that sounded odd to me?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Keith

Old 11-24-2009, 03:00 PM   #2

SUN #64
MACK C-85 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
1. Drain fresh water tank, black and grey tanks, hot water heater.
2. Bypass the water heater.
So far so good.
Quote:
3. Put some pink antifreeze in the fresh water tank. I don't think I have the bypass system.
Look for a three way valve in the tank to pump line, very close to the water pump. There will be a piece of hose approx. 3' long on one side of the tee valve. If that is there you have a winterizing kit, if not continue as you have started. If you do have the kit, place the tube in your bottle of antifreeze, 1/4 turn the valve, and turn on the pump. It will draw the antifreeze out of the bottle.

Quote: