Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Model Specific Forums > Sunline Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2018, 01:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 15
SUN #10462
remimcc is an unknown quantity at this point
Dometic Fridge hookup?

Hi, I recently purchased a 1979 T1350. The fridge worked when I inspected upon purchase. It was hooked up to electricity. Now that I have it, and am hooked up to electricity, I can't seem to get it to work. Is there a plug I should check? If so, where might I find it?
__________________

__________________
remimcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 02:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Thomascine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 740
SUN #8893
Thomascine is an unknown quantity at this point
Do you have circuit breakers? Of so, are they turned on?
__________________

__________________
Thomascine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,915
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Is it turned to elec.? They will operate on gas or electric it is controlled by a knob on the panel just below the fridge door. The gas part is the same drill turn to gas then push and hold to pilot button then push in the lighter button it works like a gas grill when you push it in it will snap do that a few times and look at the small window in the panel and see if it glowing blue then release the pilot button. Look in the bath there maybe a gfi make sure that is not tripped but it would cause other outlets not to work also.
__________________
mainah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 07:50 PM   #4
Moderator
 
JohnB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9,950
SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
If you are still having issues trying to get it going, tell us your model number. The older ones are different then the newer ones and knowing the model really helps give you better info for your exact fridge. And someone may have changed it along the way too. The one mainah is describing sounds like he has one of the older ones with the controls on the bottom.
__________________
Current Sunlines: 2004 T310SR, 2004 T1950, 2004 T2475, 2007 T2499
Prior Sunlines: 2004 T2499 - Fern Blue
2005 Ford F350 Lariat, 6.8L V10 W/ 4.10 rear axle, CC, Short Bed, SRW. Reese HP trunnion bar hitch W/ HP DC

Google Custom Search For Sunline Owners Club
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 08:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,915
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Yes I do and his is a year older than mine so I'm guessing it's the same. If mine went south I would replace it with the same thing I'm really into simplicity! If the OP has never dealt with a absorption fridge I'll add it does takes a good while to cool off there is no instant gratification it can take hours to get cold. First thing is open the outside door and feel the chimney if it's warm it's trying to get cold then wait and see if the freezer is cooling off if it is then it heading in the right direction.
__________________
mainah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 12:17 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 15
SUN #10462
remimcc is an unknown quantity at this point
Answers to Questions above: yes, circuit breaker is On. It is set to electric. In the area where the circuit breaker is, there is a coaxial cable that looks like it should hook together, and possibly goes to the fridge. However, I can't get the two cables to hook together -- the pin doesn't seem to insert, so I can't screw the two cables together. Does it make sense that the fridge hookup uses coaxial cables? The fridge with the previous owner, who was hooked up to electricity (like I am).
__________________
remimcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 02:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
j52wf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 439
SUN #2366
j52wf is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by remimcc View Post
Answers to Questions above: yes, circuit breaker is On. It is set to electric. In the area where the circuit breaker is, there is a coaxial cable that looks like it should hook together, and possibly goes to the fridge. However, I can't get the two cables to hook together -- the pin doesn't seem to insert, so I can't screw the two cables together. Does it make sense that the fridge hookup uses coaxial cables? The fridge with the previous owner, who was hooked up to electricity (like I am).
Try and send a picture of what you are seeing.
__________________
j52wf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 04:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,915
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
The fridge has an outlet of its own in the compartment that you access from outside with a very short cable. Coax cable in a camper goes to the TV antenna. Make sure it's plugged in then turn the fridge on in a few minutes the large round tube ( accessed from the outside door) should get quite warm.
__________________
mainah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 06:58 PM   #9
Moderator
 
JohnB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9,950
SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by remimcc View Post
In the area where the circuit breaker is, there is a coaxial cable that looks like it should hook together, and possibly goes to the fridge. However, I can't get the two cables to hook together -- the pin doesn't seem to insert, so I can't screw the two cables together. Does it make sense that the fridge hookup uses coaxial cables? The fridge with the previous owner, who was hooked up to electricity (like I am).
The coaxial cable is "not" part of the fridge. Has nothing to do with the fridge actually. It would be for a satellite hook up or to have cable TV at the campsite if the jack is "outside" the camper. If it is "inside" the camper, it could be part of the roof TV antenna or the inside part of getting satellite to cable into the camper to the TV set.

This is all assuming the prior owner did not do something really strange with that cable.
__________________
Current Sunlines: 2004 T310SR, 2004 T1950, 2004 T2475, 2007 T2499
Prior Sunlines: 2004 T2499 - Fern Blue
2005 Ford F350 Lariat, 6.8L V10 W/ 4.10 rear axle, CC, Short Bed, SRW. Reese HP trunnion bar hitch W/ HP DC

Google Custom Search For Sunline Owners Club
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 12:33 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 15
SUN #10462
remimcc is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by mainah View Post
The fridge has an outlet of its own in the compartment that you access from outside with a very short cable. Coax cable in a camper goes to the TV antenna. Make sure it's plugged in then turn the fridge on in a few minutes the large round tube ( accessed from the outside door) should get quite warm.
For the life of me, I cannot find the access from outside. I'm trying to insert images to give a bit more visuals, as there is some sort of odd outlet thing near the fridge on the outside, but I can't imagine that it really is an outlet. I took a picture, but I don't know how to upload. When I go to photo icon, it asks for a URL, but pic is on my desktop (I'm really not this much of a Luddite, I swear!).

Aside from the outlet-type thing mentioned above, the only other thing I see on the outside near the fridge looks like the area for the fan, louvered, and screwed on.
__________________
remimcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 02:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,915
SUN #2097
mainah is an unknown quantity at this point
Open the access door and look inside that's where the outlet is.
__________________
mainah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 03:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Thomascine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 740
SUN #8893
Thomascine is an unknown quantity at this point


I think this is a 1350 not sure but it should still help. This is the access door that Mainah is speaking of. The white panel to the right of the front window. I have a 1550 and this is where the electrical outlet is on ours for the frig.
__________________
Thomascine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 04:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
j52wf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 439
SUN #2366
j52wf is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by remimcc View Post
For the life of me, I cannot find the access from outside. I'm trying to insert images to give a bit more visuals, as there is some sort of odd outlet thing near the fridge on the outside, but I can't imagine that it really is an outlet. I took a picture, but I don't know how to upload. When I go to photo icon, it asks for a URL, but pic is on my desktop (I'm really not this much of a Luddite, I swear!).

Aside from the outlet-type thing mentioned above, the only other thing I see on the outside near the fridge looks like the area for the fan, louvered, and screwed on.
I don't know how to upload pics from my phone either. It's much easier to upload pics on the pc.
__________________
j52wf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 04:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Thomascine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 740
SUN #8893
Thomascine is an unknown quantity at this point
To upload an image from your computer:
Click reply and scroll down to bottom of text box.
Click "go advanced" add text to message window and then scroll down.
Click "Manage attachments" A separate window will pop up.
Click "browse" Then select the file to be uploaded. Be sure that the photo is appropriately sized. You may select several photos to upload at the same time by repeating the last step.
Click "Upload" After pics have loaded close the pop-up window
Click "submit reply" to mount the text of your message - photos will automatically appear at the bottom of your post.

For more "how to":
Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics

I use the Tapatalk app to load pictures from my phone.
Although I have not tried this, I assume you can follow the instructions above from the browser on your phone if the pictures are on your phone.

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Thomascine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
City water hookup kcmedic33 Sunline Travel Trailers 6 04-18-2015 10:50 AM
Hookup Battery while plugged in ?? Sunline1 Repairs and Maintenance 9 05-29-2012 08:49 AM
Hot Water Heater Hookup? theraceshop Repairs and Maintenance 8 10-21-2011 02:56 PM
Landline hookup question Nancy G. Repairs and Maintenance 3 06-04-2009 07:23 AM
Cable /antenna hookup Bobo Sunline Travel Trailers 3 09-25-2007 06:32 AM



Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sunline RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 AM.