Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Modifications
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 03-07-2007, 07:49 AM   #1

SUN #209
Dave
Over/under kit and jacks

Hi - and as a newbie, I thought that this first post could be the mods that I have made to our '01 2753.

Since this camper was purchased used, and was a 'bachelor crash pad'permanent installation, it had a few things that needed to be done to make it ready for travel (we don't do the seasonal park thing)

The most important mod was installing the Atwood over/under axle kit. Since some of the campgrounds we visit have some interesting grade and site pitches, the rear skids were doing a bit of "agricultural" work and digging deep furrows. This kit places the axles under the springs, giving 5-6 additional inches of clearance. It is a fairly easy modification, but a bit physical and time consuming but well worth the additional clearance. I was a bit concerned that the additional height would increase sway but just the opposite - it tracks even more smoothly - and I do not use an anti sway bar.

The second mod was to add scissor type frame jacks to cut down the wiggle - the fronts are mounted conventionally, with a side to side arrangement. The rears, because of the storage trunk had to be mounted in an end to end configuration. This took a bit of design work as the jacks are built to be mounted in the conventional side to side configuration. A piece of angle iron was bolted (could also be welded) to the frame to allow a wider mounting surface. We can now walk the length of the unit witout a major "shake up".