Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Modifications
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 02-29-2012, 08:08 PM   #1

SUN #2903
Kenneth is an unknown quantity at this point
Flooring Mod

Hello all,
My wife and I have been sitting here talking about a possible mod for our 2003 T-2570. We are thinking about taking out the bench seats and table, replacing the flooring with laminate in the kitchen and living area, and putting in a small kitchen table and chairs. Has any one done anything like this? I was just wondering how it worked out for you if you did. The reason for the new floor is I have a small soft spot in the floor at the entry door of the kitchen. I figured I had to pull up the floor at that spot and replace the sub floor so I would replace the linoleum with laminate. removing the bench seats is just for a little bit more room. Any thoughts, suggestions, opinions, and ideas are welcome.
Thank you
Ken

Old 03-01-2012, 09:31 AM   #2

SUN #64
MACK C-85 is an unknown quantity at this point
We did the laminate flooring after repairing two soft spots in the floor, one of which was near the door. The door soft spot was caused by the underlayment not resting on the side framing, i.e. the edge of the underlayment wasn't supported. Sistered in another 1" by 3" to support the edge. We went with laminate because the vinyl shrunk a good 1" TO 1 1/2" and couldn't be reused.

Here is a picture of the new laminiate:

We also replaced the plastic molding with cherry quarter round moulding.

There was a thread on here about removing replacing a dinette with table and chairs. Try searching the mods section.

Mack

2004 Dodge Ram 2500 Club Cab 4x4 CTD
2007 Sunline Solaris T-276-SR: Misty Blue/Cherry
2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Reg Cab 4x4 OFF-ROAD