Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Technical Forums > Modifications
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 08-24-2016, 07:50 AM   #1

SUN #8250
kerin_o is an unknown quantity at this point
Battery - Solar

Hi Everyone!

Although not new to camping, I am new to being in a camper rather than tenting and will be heading to Assateague Island in September for a 10 day trip. The National campground does not have electric and I'm debating what to do.

I know I need a new battery on the camper. It currently has a group 24. Should I stick with that or upgrade to a 27? Also, although I know I won't be stranded in anyway because my brother will be there and has a generator, I would like to try and do this on my own.
Was thinking about getting a 100W solar setup to charge the battery. Will that be enough to charge the battery? I'm going to switch all my lights to led, don't plan on running anything other than the pump, fridge and maybe the tv (although watching the stars and ponies is much more interesting to me!).
My budget is slim right now and will be able to make more upgrades next year, but for this trip would I be okay with one battery and the solar setup or should I get two batteries and charge them from my truck?
Eventually I would like to do the solar setup - or wind - as I'm green conscious and prefer that to a generator (I do admit, having a generator is sweet when you want to run the microwave...)

I appreciate any advice you can offer and am truly looking forward to getting away and using this beautiful camper - and not sleeping in a tent!!

K~

Old 08-24-2016, 02:32 PM   #2

SUN #64
MACK C-85 is an unknown quantity at this point
Welcome to the Club!!

Bring plenty of bug spray, especially if we haven't had any cool nights yet,

Just in case you haven't heard.......