Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Sunline Community
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 05-15-2008, 10:10 PM   #1

SUN #604
MikeJ
Newbie- needs help

Hello

I am very pleased to have found this site.

I am brand new to camping and campers.

The good news;
I just brought home today a 1980 8'6' SSDR 550R Truck Camper.
It is great. And from what I have read here Sunline was a great camper to have found. The 1st owner kept it in a garage 20 yrs until 2000 and the last owner took very good care of it.
28 yrs old - NO leaks. The heater, stove, refrigerator, flush potty and sink ALL Work! The instructions for the heater and frig are still in the drawers.

The only bad thing is I have a short or a bad connector in my pick up truck, all the lights worked when hooked up to the previous owners truck. On my truck the brake and turn signal lights work but the marker and interior lights do not. I do a lot of my own work but I am not comfortable with electric wiring and do not want to just replace the connector without knowing if it is the problem. I would like some advise on whom to take it to.

Should I go to the local mechanic who probably can trace a short ok ? Or take it to a RV dealer who handles towing and light connectors every day?
Are the labor charges from a RV dealer usually higher or lower than a local auto shop?

Nice to be here.

mike

Old 05-16-2008, 04:48 AM   #2

SUN #62
rich2500
Hi Mike I see your from glenside Pa. where in Pa. is glenside,I'm in berks county and I know of a glenside in reading,if this is where you are from I can reccommend a shop,It's Weavers,they are Amish folks and when it comes to automotive electrical work they know their stuff and the rates are very reasonable also,If you are interested I can get you the phone number.