Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Sunline RV Forum
Sunline User Photos

Go Back   Sunline Coach Owner's Club > Sunline Club Community Forums > Sunline Community
Click Here to Login

Join Sunline Club Forums Today

Old 07-02-2011, 02:16 PM   #1

SUN #2457
mauroger is an unknown quantity at this point
Dry Camping and Usage of AC

Hi
I'm new to travel trailer camping. The Dealer told us we can't us our AC unless we're hooked up to 30 amp service. I believe our home has 15 amp. How (if it's possible) can we run our AC (while we are packing or if dry camping) which needs 30 amp if our real property home has 15 amp. They gave us a black adapter to convert the trailer plug from a 30 amp (?) plug to a 15 amp plug.
I am very confused.

HELP ?

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7L 8cyl
mauroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 03:14 PM   #2

SUN #89
JohnB is on a distinguished road
Maureen & Christina

Welcome to Sunline Owners Club and your new coach!

Now to the AC. For "just" the AC unit you need a 20 amp line to "start" the AC. Once it is started then it will run on less amperage, (around 11.5 amps actually) What we call the inrush, a large 37 amp surge for an instant, is the starting problem.

When plugged in the shore line cord it fires up the camper power convertor that can draw a few amps to many amps pending on the charge status of your battery. So if you are plugged into a home 15 amp circuit and the converter is consuming say 3 to 4 amps which is limited draw because your battery is pretty much charged,this then leaves 15 - 4 = 11 amps left over. The AC unit that has the 37 amp inrush starting spike will trip the 15 amp circuit in your house. You might get lucky once or twice but it will not work for long.